Author: Dennis Lehane21686

Genre: Suspense/Thriller

Publisher: Harper Collins

Pages: 413

My Rating: 5 out of 5

 

Mysteries and psychological thrillers make me weak in the knees and I have a tendency to snatch them off the bookshelves of the store I see them in. Sadly not many tend to be special enough to bag my attention throughout the read. This book however, when I was through the last page made me question my sanity…like really I was walking my house behaving like one inmate from Shutter Island.

Anyway, let’s talk about the book.

The entire story revolves around one question and that is – what the hell is happening at Shutter Island?? There are mysterious buildings, the secretive staff, the abandoned lighthouse and coded clues. Suspicious activities, personal motives, and the dreams – oh God the dreams, I hate them seriously. Everything that happens in the book is so intriguing that you want to know the end in one read.

Edward Daniels or Teddy goes to this mysterious island to investigate a missing patient with some hidden intentions of his own. As he begins his journey with fellow marshal Chuck Aule, he unfolds a whole different plan behind the escape of the missing patient with something connected to his past. As you reach the third half of the story, you realize there’s an entire different plot hidden behind the story and the end comes down as a BAM! Like you could never have expected it.

There’s no need to mention it, but Shutter Island is a well acclaimed novel known for its remarkable twists and fascinating story telling. Everything from the characters to the plot set up is outstanding especially the fact that by the end you’d be forced to re-analyze the whole story in your head to fit the pieces of the puzzle on your own.

This is a must read for the lovers of psychological thrillers. A classic tale that will never grow old.

It undoubtedly gets 5 out 5 stars from me.

