Warning: Please don’t read this review if you haven’t watched the episode yet.

Dawn is breakin…It’s a brand new day Rick

Finally, the wait is over for the fans. And although I still hate the show makers for the worst cliffhanger I was ever hanged to, I couldn’t help but cry a bucket and shiver my ass off through “The Walking Dead” S07E01 “The Day Will Come When You Won’t Be”.

twd-s07e01-abraham

The long awaited answer to the question – “Who got killed by Negan”? came to a tragic end for our beloved couple Maggie and Glenn. To be honest I was quite relieved when Abraham took the hit. Not because he’s not one of my favorite characters, but because I have deeper sympathies with characters who have been there the longest. I was appalled when Negan turned to Glenn and hit him so hard that his one eye popped out (exactly like in the comic). The scene left me holding my fists to the cheeks even though there had been news that Negan will kill two people.

twd-s07e01-maggie2

I felt horrible for Maggie, who lost every single person from her family. Her mother, father, sister Beth and now Glenn. At least she has her baby, but that’s no reason for me to feel less sad for her.

Well, what’s done is done, and we all knew that this was how they were going to establish Negan, by killing some major character.

twd-s07e01-negan-and-lucille

After all the blood and gore, and Rick’s little journey with Negan alone, I thought it was all over for the day. But, when Negan tied Carl’s arm up and commanded Rick to cut his arm off or he’ll kill every single person left in the group, I almost started imagining Carl with one eye and one arm, walking the streets of Alexandria, helping his Dad with whatever he could and watching Judith grow. Thank God that didn’t happen!

twd-s07e01-carl

Now the tables have turned, and even though Rick and his group won’t forget this until they are fully avenged, the show is going to offer a lot to its fan this season (still angry fans!). We have yet to meet King Ezekiel, his pet tiger Shiva, Carol, Morgan and the rest at Alexandria.

twd-s07e01-rick-and-negan-2

This premiere episode has gathered mixed reactions from the viewers and critics. Some are saying the show makers went too far by killing fan-favorite Glenn, some are saying that it would have been much ado about nothing had the show makers not given such an opening episode after that cliffhanger. My personal opinion is that it was absolutely fine to take away a character as major as Glenn, otherwise it would have been a total drop for the show after such a long suspense. I also felt irritated with the beginning of the episode. I had waited enough, and those 15 minutes were totally ruining my mood. As far as Glenn’s death is concerned, it did affect me and I cried buckets, he was one of the oldest characters in the show and had come a long way. But I’m also glad Daryl, Michonne, Carl and Maggie survived Negan’s wrath.

twd-s07e01-michonne

Anyway, unlike other claimers I’m going to stick to the show and am looking forward to the next episode which airs Sunday, 30th October on amc Network. Meanwhile, hit the comments section below and share your thoughts about “The Walking Dead” Season 7 Episode 1 with me.

And now, a picture of what could have been, but never will be…

twd-glenn-and-abraham

I cried watching that kid in Glenn’s arm 😦 And felt sadder for not feeling as sad for Abraham 😥

If you wish to read more from The Big Zee Theory, enter your e-mail address in the follow section on the right side of this page and we will send you notifications of newest posts via e-mail.

